Shepherd’s Pie Potatoes

Hello, hungry ones.

For this post, I got confused: I didn’t know whether to post this or my Peach-Mango Pie Recipe. I had to toss a coin. I guess you know what side won. And, yes they’re not that Asian anymore.

WP_000548

My partner, bless him, makes the best Cottage Pie. Since I can’t outdo him (and am not planning to – I’m happy that way) in that department yet I want my Shepherd’s pie too, I make these potatoes instead. It’s like Reverse Shepherd’s Pie, or Cottage Pie Bites. Cottage pie, actually since we’re using minced beef.

What you need:

  • 2 tsp butter
  • 1/2 of an onion, chopped (I prefer white)
  • 150 g lean minced beef
  • 1 C beef stock
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 100 g frozen peas
  • 1 large jacket potato or 4 small ones, boiled
  • grated cheddar cheese or mozzarella

What to do:

WP_000539

1. This is basically what you need. Preheat the oven to 180C.

WP_000542

2. In a skillet, melt butter and sautee the onions. Add the mince beef and when it is all evenly browned, add the stock and the peas. Stir in Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce and salt and pepper. Let it boil until it is almost dry.

WP_000540

WP_000543

  WP_000545

3. To assemble, cut the potato in half and scoop out the flesh to another bowl. Leave the skin intact as they are going to be our cups. Now, mash the potatoes and season them with salt and pepper as you like. Divide the minced beef mixture to go evenly in these cups, then cover with mashed potato. Afterwards, top with cheese like in the photo above. Put into a baking dish and pop it in the oven until golden.

WP_000552

4. Serve it with your favourite vegetable and enjoy! My cousin ate it with my peach mango pie and I ate it with my mom’s Cucumber Salad. (I know broccoli is usually the go-to veg for Shepherd’s or Cottage Pie but since it’s summer, we did Cucumber Salad!

WP_000549

2 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie Potatoes

Leave a Reply

