Pesto Sauce

Hello, hungry ones! Glad to be back after so long! In between making it between classes and planning for my lessons, I have decided to make it a point to make more time for this blog. Cooking has sustained me through boredom and challenging situations, so might as well give it the love it deserves! Plus you know, it is fun to be here.

Last week, one of my titas here in Indonesia (I have moved from Thailand by the way – I know, we have to have a catch up) made tons of pesto sauce and she has shared some for me! This reminded me of the pesto sauce recipe that I have kept, and now sharing it to you.

This recipe came from our kitchen staff back in the British School I used to work in Manila. They serve the best food. I remember my boyfriend and I (loved having lunch with him – perks of working together) pigging out during school lunches then! It was so clean, so fresh and damn tasty! They make the food on the spot so if there was any surplus, we staff would have doggie bags! Tell you what though, that didn’t come frequently. Anyway, I asked the recipe from the head cook who we will call Manang. She told me to use pine nuts or peanuts as they give the best nutty kick. Back then I was like, “Where can I get pine nuts in Manila?” I’m pretty sure it’s well everywhere now!

Without further ado, The Pesto Sauce.

IMG_0098

What you need:

  • 1 c basil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 c grated parmesan cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 1/4 c pine nuts

What to do:

1. In a blender pulse basil, garlic and pine nuts until smooth. Add parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Add the olive oil slowly while pulsing. When you’ve reached the desired consistency, that’s it. Done!

2. Store it in a jar and fridge it for future use, or better yet, pour some over fresh, hot pasta. Enjoy!

 

Related Articles:

Kale + Walnut Pesto from Love and Lemons

Walnut Basil Pesto from Rawmazing Raw Food

Brain Healthly Walnut Pesto Sauce from Meesh’s Marinara

3 thoughts on “Pesto Sauce

    • Ohhhhh that’s a nice suggestion. Creamy pesto! I haven’t thought of that! I reckon that’s a must try!

      Pesto is wonderful, I use it on everything. One of my favourite things to do with it is to spread it on bread, then make a grilled cheese sandwich. Mmmmmm.

  1. Pingback: Cheese and Pesto Sandwich | hello hungry ones

Leave a Reply

