Tom Kha in Two Steps

Hello, hungry ones! As promised, we will catch up. Before the pesto sauce recipe, it was the vegetarian roti wraps, right? I get hungry thinking about it. I miss that life. I was living in Hatyai, Thailand with my lovely man that time, and we were making the best (and I mean THE BEST) out of that tiny kitchen in our apartment and food was glorious. Now that I am back here, I will try to share with you the best Thai food experiences I had. Now, it’s time for Tom Kha.

IMG_7706

Tom Kha is my favourite Thai food after Pad Thai. It means coconut soup. Tom Kha Gai is the most common variety that you will encounter in menus. Gai means chicken. As a vegetarian, I opt for Pak as in Tom Kha Pak. I guess you know what Pak is by now.

After Hatyai, I lived in the tropical island on Samui. I lived above a cute, yellow cafe and there I watched my Thai landlord cook traditional Thai food. It was a really cool experience. This Tom Kha Pak is his recipe, and it only takes two steps. Talk about fast food!

What you need:

  • 2 c coconut milk
  • 2 cm galangal, sliced
  • 1 lemongrass stalk, pounded and sliced
  • 3 kaffir lime leaves, torn
  • 100g straw mushrooms (or shiitake mushrooms), quartered
  • 100g carrots, sliced
  • 50g young corn, sliced
  • 50 g broccoli, sliced into florets
  • 2 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 tsp sliced chilies (use less for a milder soup)
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1/8 c lime juice
  • salt, to taste (if you’re not vegetarian go for fish sauce)
  • 1 stalk spring onion, cut finely

What to do:

1. Put coconut milk, galangal, lemongrass and lime leaves in a saucepan. Boil. Add mushrooms, carrots, young corn, tomatoes, broccoli and chillies and simmer until tender.

2. Add salt, sugar and lime juice. Ladle them into bowls and top with spring onions. Enjoy while it’s hot, and preferably with rice!

 

Related Articles:

Tom Kha Kai from The Asian Grandmother’s Cookbook

Thai Coconut Soup from A Teenage Gourmet

Tom Kha Gai Without The Gai from Mind Your Foods

Tom Kha Gai from The Food Renegade

Leave a Reply

