Creamy Spinach and Wild Mushroom Pasta

Hello hungry ones! Let’s have something fast and easy again. This recipe is, again, one of my favourite go-tos when I was in Samui because it’s cheap and very convenient to make. I lived with hotel furniture then: bed, box fridge and a desk. What’s a girl who loves to cook gonna do? Use the cafe kitchen! Of course I know I am leeching on their gas resources so I tried to keep my cooking fast, but also not compromise flavor. Result? Creamy, healthy, comfort food goodness.

IMG_7474

What you need:

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 5 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 100 g shiitake mushrooms, chopped
  • 200 g champignon or button mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 tbsps flour, dissolved in 1/2 c water as thickener
  • a handful of spinach leaves
  • salt
  • pepper

What to do:

1. Saute garlic in coconut oil until fragrant. Add the mushrooms and cook in high heat for 2 minutes.

2. Reduce heat to medium and add milk. Stirring frequently, add the flour + water mixture tablespoon by tablespoon to thicken the solution. DO NOT USE EVERYTHING ALL AT ONCE. Just add enough until the desired consistency is reached.

3. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in spinach, and turn off the heat. Serve hot. You may add parmesan cheese for garnish. For me, I topped it generously with fried garlic chips. Enjoy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Creamy Spinach and Wild Mushroom Pasta

    • Awwww, thank you. This really means a lot. I try my best to make my own food now, though it can mean inconvenient for some people. I had anaphylactic shock to a commercially sold soup (those TV dinners!) and the doctor cannot pinpoint what the allergen is because it can be anything in the ingredients list, from the food the shrimp ate (it was shrimp wanton soup) to the articificial colour. It really scared me. I was in a foreign country and no insurance! Fortunately my awesome boyfriend was with me. If he wasn’t there, I am probably dead now. Lucky me! 😀

Leave a Reply

