Eggplant Salad

Hello hungry ones, today we are gonna have this fast and simple dish. This eggplant salad is a staple in all Filipino households. Healthy and delicious, it won’t take a lot for you to make it a mainstay on your dining table too.

The Philippines has been colonised by the Spanish for more than 300 years. The word ensaladang is obviously a Filipino corruption of the Spanish word ensalada meaning salad, and talong is the Filipino word for… you guessed it: eggplant (FYI the Spanish for eggplant is berenjena). I think it’s safe to say that this humble dish is a celebration of the fusion of both cultures.

I have to admit that I have been craving some Filipino comfort food lately, so I started digging through my memory box as to what dishes my yaya (maid) would cook for our meals. They were either meat-based or too complicated (shopping for fish here is too complicated for me – more on that later). If I can stuff a dead chicken’s ass with meat and Spanish sausages for my rellenong manok I would, but I settled for this lazy solution as it only takes less than 10 minutes to prepare, and like Snickers – it satisfies.

This dish is adapted to suit my taste. Most people grill the eggplant. I chose not to, as I don’t like to clean up eggplant ashes in the kitchen. I boiled it instead. Not only it reduces the carcinogenic content, it also makes the taste milder. Also, I didn’t take the skin off the eggplant. It is not burnt anyway, and it is extra fibre. I also put salted egg into the mix to provide that rich taste and depth only eggs can give. Once you’re done with that, you’re good to go.

This eggplant salad complements grilled or fried meat dishes perfectly. It would also be nice in a sandwich or wrap!

Leave a Reply

